Morocco’s regions: discover them and plan your trip
Morocco’s regions: discover them and plan your trip
Morocco’s regions: discover them and plan your trip
  • Aissam AKHIYAT
  • PubliéOctober 29, 2023
  • Rent carTourismTravel to Morocco

Discover and explore more about Morocco‘s twelve regions with Akhiyat Driver Cars. Morocco’s highest administrative level is called a region. There are 75 sub-provinces within the regions. The king’s governors oversee the various areas. In addition, the governor oversees the province in which he resides.

Morocco’s regions 

The highest administrative level in the African nation of Morocco is twelve regions. Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab, Guelmim-Oued Noun, Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra, Souss-Massa, Drâa-Tafilalet, Oriental, and Guelmim-Oued Noun are these regions. Casablanca-Settat, Rabat-Salé-Kénitra, Béni Mellal-Khénifra, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Fès-Meknès, and Marrakesh-Safi

Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab, the largest amongst Morocco’s regions

The region of Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab is in the south of the nation. Oued-Eddahab and Aousserd make up the Region of Dakhla-Oued-Eddahab, which has Oued-Eddahab as its capital. Based on population figures from 2014, it has a total size of 142,865 square kilometers and 142,955 residents. The region’s capital is Dakhla.

Laâyoune-El Hamra’s Saki

Laâyoune, Boujdour, Tarfaya, and Smara are all part of the Laâyoune-Saguia El Hamra area, which has Laâyoune as its capital. The area is found in the nation’s southern section. Based on demographic data from 2014, Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra has a total size of 140,018 square kilometers and a population of 367,758. Laâyoune serves as the region’s capital.

Guelmim-Oued Noun

One of Morocco’s twelve regions is Guelmim-Oued Noun. Its capital is Guelmim, and its constituent cities are Assa-Zag, Tan-Tan, and Sidi Ifni.The region is situated in the nation’s center. Based on population data from 2014, Guelmim-Oued Noun has 46,108 square kilometers of land and 433,757 inhabitants. Guelmim serves as the region’s capital.


The prefectures and provinces of Agadir Ida-Outanane-Inezgane Aït Melloul, Chtouka Aït Baha, Taroudante, Tiznit, and Tata are included in the Souss-Massa region, which has Agadir Ida-Outanane as its capital. The region is situated in the nation’s center. Based on population figures from 2014, Souss-Massa has a surface area of 51,642 square kilometers and 2,676,847 residents. Agadir serves as the region’s capital. 


With Errachidia as its capital, the Darâa-Tafilalet area is made up of Ouarzazat, Midelt, Tinghir, and Zagora. It is situated in the nation’s northeast and east. Based on population figures from 2014, Drâa-Tafilalet is 88,836 square kilometers in size with 1,635,008 people living there. Errachidia serves as the region’s capital.


Oujda-Angad is the capital of the Oriental area, which is made up of the prefectures and provinces of Nador, Driouech, Jerada, Berkane, Taourirt, Guercif, and Figuig. The northeastern part of the nation is where it is situated. Based on demographic data from 2014, Oriental is a 90,127 square kilometer area with 2,314,346 people living there. Oujda serves as the region’s capital.

Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, the smallest amongst Morocco’s regions

Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima is one of the twelve regions of Morocco. The area is found in the country’s northernmost region. with its capital at Tangier-Assilah. Tangier-Assilah, M’diq-Fnideq, Tetouan, Fahs-Anjra, Larache, Al Hoceima, Chefchaouen, and Ouazzane are its prefectures and provinces.Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima is 15,090 square kilometers in size, and 3,556,729 people live there, according to population figures from 2014. Tangier serves as the region’s capital city.


The fez-Meknes region, with the capital of Fez, consists of the prefectures and provinces of Fez, Meknes, Hajeb, Ifrane, Moulay Yacoub, Sefrou, Boulmane, Taounate and Taza. The area is found in the nation’s northern section. Based on population data from 2014, Fès-Meknès has a surface area of 40,075 square kilometers and 4,236,892 residents. Fès serves as the region’s capital.


Rabat, Salé, Skhirat-Témara, Kenitra, Khémisset, Sidi Kacem, and Sidi Slimane are all included in the Rabat-Salé-Kénitra region, which has Rabat as its capital. The country’s northwest is where this region is situated. Based on population data from 2014, Rabat-Salé-Kénitra has 18,194 square kilometers of land area and 4,580,866 inhabitants. Rabat serves as the region’s capital.

Béni Mellal-Khénifra

Beni Mellal, Azilal, Fqih Bensaleh, Khénifra, and Khouribga make up the Region of Beni Mellal-Khénifra, which has Beni Mellal as its capital. The area is found in the nation’s northern section. According to population data from 2014, Béni Mellal-Khénifra has a population of 2,520,776 and an area of 28,374 square kilometers. Béni Mellal serves as the region’s capital.

Casablanca-Settat, the most crowded amongst Morocco’s regions

The prefectures of Casablanca, Mohammedia, El Jadida, Nouaceur, Mediouna, Benslimane, Berrechid, Settat, and Sidi Bennour comprise the Greater Casablanca-Settat region, which has Casablanca as its capital. Based on population data from 2014, Casablanca-Settat is 20,166 square kilometers in size and has 6,861,739 residents.Casablanca serves as the region’s capital.


The prefectures and provinces of Marrakech, Chichaoua, Al Haouz, Kelaa Sraghna, Essaouira, Rhamna, Safi, and Youssoufia are all part of the Marrakech-Safi region, which has its capital city of Marrakech. Based on population data from 2014, Marrakesh-Safi is 39,167 square kilometers in size, with 4,520,569 people living there.Marrakesh serves as the region’s capital. 

Are you planning a trip to visit Morocco’s regions this winter?

Akhiyat Driver Cars is at your service to provide you with the best solutions and the most practical advice. Contact us now at

  • From Morocco 06 61 37 71 06 
  • From abroad 00 212 6 61 37 71 06 

Or write to us at 4, Avenue Haj Lahbib, Cité Bahara Les Amicales, Agadir, 80000, MOROCCO.

Partagez :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Whatsapp Contact